child rapeCriminal Justice CommitteeDeath penaltyFeaturedGloria JohnsonHB1663House Bill 1663House Criminal Justice CommitteerapistsState NewsTennesseeTennessee General AssemblyTennessee House of RepresentativesWilliam Lamberth

Child Rapist Death Penalty Bill To Be Considered In Tennessee House Criminal Justice Committee Next Week

Image Credit:

The Tennessee Conservative [By Rebecca Scott] –

House Bill 1663 (HB1663), “As introduced, authorizes the death penalty as a punishment for rape of a child, aggravated rape of a child, or especially aggravated rape of a child. – Amends TCA Title 39; Title 40 and Chapter 1062 of the Public Acts of 2022.”

This bill is scheduled to be heard by the full Criminal Justice Committee in the Tennessee House of Representatives on January 30, 2024. 

As previously reported by The Tennessee Conservative, the bill’s sponsor, William Lamberth (R-Portland-District 44,) was quoted as saying in regard to HB 1663, “I don’t take this bill lightly, this is something that came from years of analysis and conversation in my community… we’re going to protect our children in the state of Tennessee. If someone rapes one of our children, they are forfeiting their own life, period, end of story, and let it go out far and wide, that if this passes, we will fight this all the way through the court system and to the US Supreme Court, so that hopefully every state in the union has the ability again to set the penalties in their own state.”

Discussion of the bill in subcommittee revealed bi-partisan support with only Representative Gloria Johnson (D-Knoxville-District 90) choosing to be recorded in the voice vote as voting NO.

As the bill moves forward, you can voice your support or opposition to HB1663 by contacting the members of the House Criminal Justice Committee listed below prior to their scheduled meeting on January 30, 2024.

Bud Hulsey (R-chair) –  – (615) 741-2886

John Gillespie (R) –  – (615) 741-8201

Michele Carringer (R) – – (615) 741-1721

Elaine Davis (R) – – (615) 741-2287

Clay Doggett (R) – – (615) 741-7476

Andrew Farmer (R) – – (615) 741-4419

Monty Fritts (R) – – (615) 741-7658

Ronnie Glynn (D) – – (615) 741-2043

G.A. Hardaway (D) – – (615) 741-5625

Dan Howell (R) –  – (615) 741-7799

Gloria Johnson (D) – – (615) 741-2031

William Lamberth (R) – – (615) 741-1980

Debra O. Moody (R) – – (615) 741-3774

Lowell Russell (R) – – (615) 741-3736

Joe Towns, Jr. (D) – – (615) 741-2189

Rebecca Scott is a Tennessee resident and reporter for The Tennessee Conservative. 

You can reach Rebecca at

Source link