AIArtificial intelligenceFeaturedHB1630HB1664House Bill 1630House Bill 1664House K-12 SubcommitteeK-12 SubcommitteeSchool Resource OfficersState News

Tennessee House Subcommittee Scheduled To Consider Bills On School Resource Officers & AI

Image Credit: Defense Visual Information Distribution Service via Picryl / Public Domain & Enokson / CC

The Tennessee Conservative [By Adelia Kirchner] –

As this year’s state legislative session continues, the House K-12 Subcommittee has been scheduled to discuss legislation that would impact the safety and security of K-12 schools across the state, as well as the educational integrity of those schools. 

The following bills are scheduled to be heard on Tuesday, January 23rd, 2024:

Enabling Law Enforcement Agencies to Assign SRO’s to Schools that Fail to Request One

House Bill 1664 (HB1664), sponsored by Rep. Todd Warner (R-Chapel Hill-District 92), as introduced, aims to create safer school environments by changing current law to enable law enforcement agencies in Tennessee to assign school resource officers (SRO’s) to schools who have not already requested one. 

This bill would also authorize the appointed SRO’s to carry a weapon on school grounds without express written authorization from the director of schools or the assigned school’s principal.

The corresponding Senate Bill, SB1715, is being sponsored by Sen. Joey Hensley (R-Hohenwald-District 28).

Read more about this legislation HERE.

Requiring K-12 School Districts to Adopt Rules Governing the Use of AI

House Bill 1630 (HB1630), sponsored by Rep. Scott Cepicky (R-Culleoka-District 64), as introduced would require K-12 schools and public institutions of higher education to establish a policy regarding the use of artificial intelligence (AI).

As “new and improved” AI technology continues to be released to the general public, Rep. Cepicky feels that guidelines for AI usage for classroom and homework purposes should be put into place as soon as possible.

The corresponding Senate Bill, SB1711, is being sponsored by Sen. Joey Hensley.

Read more about this legislation HERE.

To voice your support or opposition to the bills summarized above, use the information below to contact the House K-12 Subcommittee members prior to their scheduled meeting on Tuesday, January 23rd, 2024.

Kirk Haston (R-Chair) – rep.kirk.haston@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-0750 

Gino Bulso (R) – rep.gino.bulso@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-6808

Chris Hurt (R) – rep.chris.hurt@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2134

Bryan Richey (R) – rep.bryan.richey@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3560

William Slater (R) – rep.william.slater@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-2534

Robert Stevens (R) – rep.robert.stevens@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-3830

Todd Warner (R) – rep.todd.warner@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4170

Mark White (R) – rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-4415

Sam McKenzie (D) – rep.sam.mckenzie@capitol.tn.gov – (615) 741-0768

About the Author: Adelia Kirchner is a Tennessee resident and reporter for the Tennessee Conservative. Currently the host of Subtle Rampage Podcast, she has also worked for the South Dakota State Legislature and interned for Senator Bill Hagerty’s Office in Nashville, Tennessee. 

You can reach Adelia at adelia@tennesseeconservativenews.com.

Source link

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.